first_imgGSCL/Prime Minister’s T20 Cup II…The Prime Minister’s T20 Softball Cup reaped good success last year in its first edition, but the tournament is set to reap even better success this year in its 2nd edition, as teams battled it out in the Semifinals of the Masters’ and All-Stars’ categories yesterday at the Everest Cricket ground and at various venues across Georgetown.After the teams were drawn and placed into several groups, each captain knew that, even though they were friends, they would have to put friendship aside and battle it out on the field. In the first Semifinals — the Masters Semifinal 1 — Parika Defenders took on Regal Masters, the defending champions; but the Masters were too much for the Defenders, and masterfully outfoxed them by restricting them to 86/8 in their allotted 20 overs.The only substantial score for the Defenders came from Kabesh Persaud, who scored 17 as the Masters’ David Harper bagged 3-18 with support from Laurie Singh on 2-14. Mohendra Arjune also chipped in with 1-14, Parsram Persaud 1-14, and Throy Kippins 1-19.With 87 to chase for victory, the Masters devoured the target in 7.2 overs, making 89/0 with Eion Abel making a commanding 47* (2×6, 4×4) and Eric Thomas playing a supporting role with 31*(4×4) winning by 10 wickets.In Semifinal 2 of the Masters category, Wellman Masters took on Fishermen Masters, the game being reduced to 16 overs per side due to light at Eve Leary.The encounter saw Wellman post a commanding score of 132/4 in their 16 overs, with Jagdish Persaud 34 (4x6s), Ravi Latchman 33 (1×6; 4×4), and Wayne Jones 27* (2×6; 1×4), who struck a few lusty blows at the back end of the innings. Bowling for the Fishermen were Stanley Mohabir who bagged 3-29 and Ramo Malone with 1-21. The second half of the game saw Fishermen crumble to a 27-run defeat as they could muster only 105/7, with Hemraj Pillay offering resistance with 37 (3×6; 1×4), Baldeo Persaud 17* (1×6), and Dennis Mangroo 17 (1×6; 1×4). The pick of the Wellman bowlers was Ramesh Narine, with 2-22.In the All-star semifinals, semifinal 1 saw Regal All-Stars taking on defending champions Ariel Speedboat at Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) ground. Batting first, Regal posted a challenging total of 161 all out in their 20 overs.The innings saw Sachin Singh lead with 39 (23b; 2×6; 3×4), Marvin Babb, 29, (26b; 1×6; 2×4), and Sewchan Budhu, 29 (17b; 2×6; 2×4).The pick of the Speedboat bowlers was Greg Singh with 3-31, and Shazim Hussain with 2-27. With a now mammoth total of 162 to win, the defending champions made light work of the total, as they made 164/4 in 18.1 overs.Anil Bharat took the lead with his 52 (2×6; 4×4). He was well supported by Wazeer Hussain, 47 (3×6; 3×4), only Dairam Ramnauth for Regal was the pick of the bowlers with his 1-20. Ariel Speed boat then stormed to their second consecutive finals with ease. In semifinal 2, Boots All Stars clashed with DS18, but this match was reduced to 15 overs per side due to bad light at Eve Leary. Batting first, DS18 were able only to muster 109 all out in 13.1 overs, with E Joseph making 22 (2×6; 1×4) and chief tormentor A Wallace bagging 3-14.With a small total to book their spot in the finals, Boots chased the total down in 12.2 overs as they made 111/ 5. Leading them to victory was Balram Samaroo on 33 (1X6; 4X4) as he thwarted the bowling efforts of R. Poloram, who grabbed 3-18.The All-Star champions will receive $700,000 and a Hero motor cycle for the most valuable player, (MVP) while the Master’s champions will receive $600,000 and a 55 inch smart TV for the MVP. The Masters finals will feature defending champions Regal Masters clashing it out with Wellman Masters at Everest from 09:30h, and defending champions Ariel Speed Boat duking it out with Boots All Stars at13:00h at Everest in the All-Star category. This tournament is organised by the Georgetown Softball Cricket League Inc (GSCL). (TIMOTHY JAIKARRAN)last_img read more